16 MBHS seniors named National Merit Finalists

  • Feb. 11, 2021 — All 16 Mountain Brook High School seniors who were named National Merit Semifinalists in September have been named National Merit Finalists and will now be considered for National Merit Scholarships. 

    Mountain Brook’s Finalists are listed below in alphabetical order:

    • Matthew Bottcher
    • Caroline Carwie
    • Harry Evans
    • Annya Evans-Martinez
    • Teddy Feig
    • Lilly Gilbert
    • Sam Graham 
    • Ellie Hamilton
    • Laurel Hand
    • Emma Kao
    • Ann Carlton Keller
    • Emily King
    • Fletcher Nunnelley
    • Ethan Shunnarah
    • Theo Simonton
    • Catherine Taylor

    More than 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

    The number of Semifinalists from each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. MBHS had more Semifinalists — and now has more Finalists — than any other high school in Alabama.