• School Counseling Curriculum Philosophy

    The Mountain Brook School Counseling curriculum philosophy believes in the worth and dignity of each student and values his/her uniqueness.  All services are provided in cooperation with teachers, administrators, students, and parents.  

    We view the School Counseling Program as:

    • Providing all students with opportunities to achieve school success.
    • Being an integral part of the local school's total instructional program.
    • Providing sequential activities organized and implemented by certified personnel.
    • Developed to serve all students within the school district with age-appropriate activities and services. 


    The K-12 School Counseling Program addresses the learning needs of each student by helping him or her acquire competencies in the areas of:

    • Academic Development
    • Career Development
    • Social/Emotional Development


    Standards Of Academic Development

    Standard A: Students will acquire the attitudes, knowledge and skills that contribute to effective learning in school and across the life span.  

    Standard B: Students will complete school with academic preparation essential to choose from a wide range of substantial post-secondary options, including college.

    Standard C: Students will understand the relationship of academics to the world of work and to life at home and in the community.


    Standards Of Career Development 

    Standard A:  Students will acquire the skills to investigate the world of work in relation to knowledge of self and to make informed career decisions. 

    Standard B:  Students will employ strategies to achieve future career goals with success and satisfaction.

    Standard C:  Students will understand the relationship between personal qualities, education, training and the world of work.  


    Standards Of Social/Emotional Development 

    Standard A:  Students will acquire the knowledge, attitudes and interpersonal skills to help them understand and respect self and others. 

    Standard B:  Students will make decisions, set goals, and take necessary action to achieve goals.

    Standard C:  Students will understand safety and survival skills.