MBS Holds Annual Retirement Tea

  • Click play on the video above.

  • Wednesday, May 10, 2023 – Mountain Brook Schools honored its 17 retirees for the 2022-23 school year at the annual Retirement Tea held on Tuesday afternoon at Brookwood Forest Elementary. The event recognized teachers and staff members who are drawing their tenure with Mountain Brook Schools to a close.

    “These individuals have contributed over 275 combined years of service to our school system alone,” MBS Superintendent Dr. Dicky Barlow said. “I am so thankful for their contributions and the impact they had in each of our school communities. Despite having six different campuses, we operate as one school district and it’s a privilege to celebrate all these colleagues and their contributions over the years.”

    These educators combined for a total of 430 years (282 specifically in Mountain Brook) in education, teaching and guiding young people to learn and grow. Retirees in attendance were presented with a gift for their many years of committed service to Mountain Brook Schools.

    2023 MBS Honorees
    Cherokee Bend Elementary:

    • Pauline Marcy

    Crestline Elementary:

    • Sallie Chalkley

    • Kathy Dye

    • Christina Neely 

    Mountain Brook Junior High:

    • Derek Dearman

    • Tami Genry

    • Lisa Lewis

    • Priscilla Stokes

    Mountain Brook High School:

    • Jeremy Crigger

    • Benny Eaves

    • Philip Holley

    • Tony Johnson

    • Joani Kay

    • Audrey Laird

    • Barbara Sanak

    • Jason Smith
    • Emily Westlake